Formula Drift Long Beach

Chelsea Denofa had big news coming into round 1,  joining with Vaughn Gittin Jr and his Mustang RTR team. Denofa came out strong with his new BC/ Nitto/ RTR mustang showing off the 3 wheel action of the mustangs. Looking strong in practice he just couldn’t put it together for qualifying, landing in 24th place.

Dai Yoshihara came back with his Turn 14 /Falken GT86. The Toyota 86 has show its versatility in the sport as more drivers are making the switch to the shorter lighter chassis. Dai was taken out by Michael Essa in the top 32.

Fredric Aasbo qualified in 4th place with his new Rockstar Energy Drink / Nexen Tire Toyota Corolla iM. Aasob threw down a crazy 91 point run, he got a by run in the top 32. In the top 16 there was some questions about the decel zone against Kristaps Bluss. Aasbo was taken out by Alex Heilbrunn in the great 8

Chris Forsberg had a very rough week leading into Long Beach. After blowing a motor on the dyno he was able to come back and focus for the race. Forsberg qualified in 7th place, taking out Alex Hohnadell and Ken Gushi, Chris had to face the near perfect James Deane. A one more time battle ended with Deane getting the win in the great 8.

Odi Bakchis went back to his roots in an Nissan S14 sponsored by ARK Performance. Odi was joined by Matt Field on the new Falken team, Falken has returned to the sport in a big way with 2 cars sporting the classic Falken livery. Odi made it past Cameron Moore, Dean Kearney, and Piotr Wiecek loosing to Alex Heilbrunn in the final 4.

Jeff Jones has added an Edelbrock Supercharger to his DOC / Hankook S14.  Showing real car control Jeff put the car on all the wall during practice. Qualifying in 21st, Jones was taken out in the top 32 by Juha Rintanen.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *